Floppy Math

March 14, 2008

Because a foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds.

Happy Pi Day everybody!

I made my first dodecahedron too big and it turned out floppy under its own weight. It holds its shape pretty well hanging from a string in my window, but tips over when I set it on a table. The pattern is sound, though, and I’m a huge fan of making things homemade and lumpen that are usually made with rulers, but I’ll hafta do a smaller, stand-up-on-its-own one before the pattern’s ready to publish. So I miss my self-imposed deadline of this very minute. How come none of the other mathematical constants get their own day? When it’s impossible number day can I put my clothes on inside out and walk to school backwards?

Dodeca is a departure from my usual way of designing, which is as close to one-piece as possible so the thing you’re creating basically appears in your hands – this one’s got lots of pieces and grafting galore, which is its own kind of fun.

Oh, and happy White Day, too!

One Response to “Floppy Math”

  1. Marjojo Says:

    I’m glad I don’t have to say ‘dodecahedron’ aloud. Like the idea of mathematics being knitted knotted turned lumpened and made up in purple glitter. And I’m hoping for impossible number day – I can see you walking back in time too, getting younger/smaller with every step.


Leave a Reply

