Pittsburgh Warm and Fuzzy!

February 19, 2010
6th Annual Knit & Crochet Show

The Snow Stayed Away

The Pittsburgh Knit & Crochet Festival was a blast!  The event drew quite a crowd from all over the region — one student even told me she came every year from DC, along with her mom who flew in from Mississippi!  (don’t forget to send that photo!).  My classes were filled with friendly, happy, enthusiastic students, and it was really great to see so many familiar faces, both from last year’s event and all the folks I’d gotten to know at the Bedford Springs KnitTreat this past November.

All four of my classes were held in the same room, so I laid out my samples for the whole weekend’s worth of classes and set up my yarn winder and tinker-toy swift so students could wind the stash they’d just picked up at the market.  Everbody loves a tinkertoy swift – I promise I’ll have photos of that soon!

Teaching went really well – it’s so fun to get to teach people how to do the things I spend so much time obsessing about.  Case in point:  Knitted Brains! class.  I had students running the full range of experience – one had just taught himself to knit (backwards, at that!) while others were old hands looking for something new to try out.  It felt like everybody got something good out of the class, no matter what point they started from, including lots of bits about the nature of ruffles, and how the brains pattern is basically a ruffle that’s so ruffle-y it doesn’t know what to do with itself any more.  I even made an x/y graph for the handout with an arrow on it that says “ruffley-ness”.  How awesome is it that I’ve actually found an audience for my ruffle obsession?  Honestly, I feel blessed.

I just want to do a public Thank You! to Barb and her family for putting on such a wonderful event every year.  Thanks also to Kathleen for providing samples of Jelly Yarn for the brains class – everybody loved it!

Also, this is a bit after the fact, but check out the press we got for the show:

The Pittsburgh Tribune called me a Celebrity Knitting Teacher – it’s the first time I’ve seen that phrase in print next to my name, but I bet (knock on wood) it won’t be the last!

And the Pittsburgh City Paper ran a photo of one of my octopi when they put the festival on their Short List.  I can’t find a permalink, so here’s the whole blurb:

Green Octopus

Sat., Feb. 13 – Crafts

Winter is for wool, and there’s no better place to get warm and fuzzy this weekend than the sixth annual Pittsburgh Knitting and Crochet Festival. Classes, meet-ups, vendors, charity knitting and various tutorials are geared to everyone, beginner through expert. “Hyberbolic knitting” is currently hot. Thus, the festival is hosting a “Confluence of Artistry and Math” exhibit, highlighting knitted 3-D mathematical shapes and forms, free-form crochet and wild whimsical figures, such as those by guest instructor Daniel Yuhas. Al Hoff 9 a.m.-5 p.m. Also 9 a.m.-4 p.m. Sun., Feb. 14. Four Points Sheraton, 910 Sheraton Drive, Mars. $10 ($15 at door). 412-963-7030 or www.pghknitandcrochet.com

One Response to “Pittsburgh Warm and Fuzzy!”


  1. Thank you Daniel, It is great having you at the festival, my family, the students and I love you!!! Barb


Leave a Reply

