Tooting the Horns of Strangers

March 18, 2010

As usual, I’ve got way more of my own designs on my needles than I can possibly hope to finish these days, but if I found the time to follow someone else’s pattern instead of writing my own, here are three that would top my chart:

1.  Helene Magnusson’s Icelandic designs

Helene Magnusson's Rose Pattern Sweater
Helene Magnusson’s Rose Pattern Sweater

I just stumbled on Helene Magnusson’s work, and I’m totally thrilled by her use of color.  Her recent book Icelandic Knitting using Rose Patterns is way up there on my wish list for the pictures alone.  The book draws its inspiration from traditional color motifs found in the insoles of icelandic sheep and fish skin shoes. One more time: traditional icelanders kept all this awesome color literally underfoot!  You can read Ann’s blog here or check out the book here.

2.  Lana Holden’s “Skew” socks

Skew by Lana Holden
Skew by Lana Holden

In case you missed the latest Knitty surprise, check out Skew by Lana Holden. I’m a huge fan of turning things inside out and upside down, and these socks on the bias look totally unique, fun to make, and a great fit.  The pattern is over here on Knitty, and you can read Lana’s blog here.

3.  Meghan Jones’s Jellyfish Bag

Meghan Jones's Jellyfish Bag
Meghan Jones’s Jellyfish Bag

And here’s one last new fave from the current issue of Interweave:  Meghan Jones’s Jellyfish Bag.  Another tricky-yet-simple pattern, and a great use of the long color shifts of the gorgeous variegated Knit One Crochet Too yarn.  You can read Meghan’s blog here.

Leave a Reply

