How To Make a Yarn Swift Out of Tinkertoys

May 27, 2010

Just a quick note to let you know I’ve added a tutorial on how to make your own Tinkertoy swift to the “Help” page on the site. It got lots of interest when I set it up last February in my classroom at the Pittsburgh Knit & Crochet Show (and everybody loves it when I set it up at the coffeeshop to wind yarn during Stitch n Bitch!).  I finally remembered to take photos last time I put it together, so here it is!

Tinkertoy Yarn Swift

My Tinkertoy Swift

Click here for the full step-by-step tutorial.

In Other News:

There are still a few spots left for the Mirabilis and Lace & Loop classes at the TKGA Knit & Crochet Show in Manchester, NH this July.  And click here to print yourself a 2-for-1 admission to the show!

The New England Fiber Arts Retreat is taking shape – Casey tells me there are now 9 folks presenting or teaching, and classes will cover just about everything fiber-tastic, including spinning, natural dyeing, needle felting, and more.  I’ll be teaching a design-your-own shawl class to bring out every knitter’s creative genius.  Click here for the details.

One Response to “How To Make a Yarn Swift Out of Tinkertoys”


  1. Just a quick note to let you know I’ve added a tutorial on how to make your own Tinkertoy swift to the “Help” page on the site. It got lots of … yaswift.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

