Macro Monday

June 21, 2010

I got up close and personal with my knitting this weekend, training my macro lens on my stitches in the hazy sunlight on my front stoop, and here’s what I have to share with you.

First up, a detail of the Blue Star Blanket from last January’s YarnForward.  I’m loving the in-and-out-of-focus making the bobble stitches into a bunch of regular blue hills.  The yarn is Debbie Bliss Donegal Luxury Tweed, and the soft fuzz is coming from angora. The Blue Star pattern will be up in the shop soon.

Next up, a sneak peek at a new design in Noro Aya. I’m absolutely loving the boing-y color juxtapositions and the shimmer and depth of hue that comes from the silk content.  Scribbled landscapes of crayon cotton candy. These look almost like bleary abstract paintings. Yum.

Here’s another sneak peek, currently off the needles after ripping back a few rows, a new design using Manos del Uruguay and a leaf pattern.  I’m loving the drapey silk in this one, and the yarn has been an absolute dream to work with.

Next to flash some stash – I recently got a package of this totally gorgeous Sanguine Gryphon yarn for a design for their fall pattern collection.  So excited to get underway on this project, I’m totally hypnotised by the impending scrumptiousness!  Stay tuned for more peeks as this project gets underway.  You’ll never guess what it’s going to turn into.

I love how a photo with  super-close-up focus can turn a jumble of fabric into a painterly lanscape.  When I was a kid I loved to play a game with a bunched up sheet and some marbles, bunching up the sheet and rolling the marbles along the contours of imaginary underground caves. Last but certainly not least, check out these rolling hills of MostlyMerino from a Mirabilis in progress.  I’m totally adoring this yarn, soft and sheepy all at once, with generous helpings of natural variation in the color and texture, and gorgeous squiggles of fuzz.

Leave a Reply

