Miss Jackson if You’re Nosty

July 3, 2010

A crucial piece of the yarn ball winder has gone missing somewhere in MoltingYeti HQ – the cats probably found it and chased it under the couch. I know for a certainty that as soon as I spring for a new winder the missing part will resurface, so I’ve been boning up on my nostepinne skills instead. A nostepinne or “nosty” is basically just a fancy tapered stick you use to wind center-pull skeins by hand. There’s a great tutorial on how to wind them here  on the FiberFool blog. Etsy plug – I got my Nosty from ThreadsThruTime, and I love it.

nostepinne-d yarn ball

olive cotton candy anyone?

Here’s my first attempt, winding a seemingly endless skein of lace-weight, hand-dyed Sanguine Gryphon Sappho into the scrumptious yarn lollipop you see before you.  Not exactly a square-edged center pull cake, but a functional egg, not bad for a first try.

yummy sanguine gryphon yarn

yummy

And because this song popped into my head while I was winding and just won’t go away…

doot, doot, do-doodle-oot doot doot oh you nosty boys.

Have a happy 4th of July, everyone!

2 Responses to “Miss Jackson if You’re Nosty”


  1. I’m so glad you found the tutorial on my blog helpful. Your hand wound ball looks terrific and the color of yarn is indeed yummy! I have to say you were quite brave to do so with lace weight. I can imaging the amount of time it took :-)


Leave a Reply

