Pittsburgh Rocked!

February 21, 2011

pittsburgh knit and crochet show logo

The Pittsburgh Knit & Crochet Show last weekend was absolutely super. The festival’s in its seventh year now, and each year it grows bigger and adds something new. This year the festivities were extended to three days and we kicked things off with a glam Friday night fashion show hosted by Steven Be, with garments by the festival teachers, Steven, Nicky Epstein, and Tahki Stacy Charles.

I caught up with some old friends Friday night, and had wonderful students in my workshops Saturday and Sunday. Teaching two three-hour classes each day also kept me off the Market floor – so keeping my No New Yarn Until You Stash Down resolution was no sweat, though I did pick up a gorgeous oak swift from the Knitting Notions booth.

Thanks yet again to Barb and her amazing helpers for putting on such a wonderful, well-organized show with such a good feeling to it. Thanks also to Stacey from KnitOne in Pittsburgh for selling my patterns during the show. I know I should have some festival pictures to share with you – Vicki my Number One Fan, if you’re reading this, can you send me some?

beagle brothers

The Beagle Brothers!

Straight From Fiber Fest to Clog Dancing!

On my way home from Pittsburgh I stayed with my cousins, and I had the chance to see their band the Beagle Brothers play. They do sweet old-timey music, and the band they brought in to play after them had clog dancers! Seriously – dancing with wooden shoes! It was awesome. I was rushing from one cultural event to another!

 

Knitting as Meditation

shambhala center logo

I mentioned this in one of my workshops – I’m really curious about this all-day knitting-as-meditation session that’s happening this April at the Shambhala Center – And I think I’m curious enough to actually go! So many knitters talk about the meditative qualities of knitting, and I know that knitting-as-meditation has had a huge positive effect on my life – your hands get busy and your mind wanders, then comes back to the knitting, then wanders again… breathe in, breathe out…

It’s all day (10 to 5) on April 9 at the Shambhala Center, 188 West 22nd Street in NYC – here’s the link for more info.

Next Stop, DC!

dreamcoat yarn spot logo

I’ll be teaching a Knitting on the Bias workshop at the Yarn Spot in Wheaton, Maryland on Sunday, March 6. I’d love to see any of you DC area folks there! Check out the Yarn Spot for more details.

One Response to “Pittsburgh Rocked!”


  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by sharon watterson, Daniel Yuhas. Daniel Yuhas said: Pittsburgh Rocked! http://wp.me/pzLfn-pK […]


Leave a Reply

